CHARLOTTETOWN'S BOUTIQUE HOTEL PROPERTY
PROUDLY FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED
Fairholm Boutique Inns is a five star National Historic property in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. With 32 uniquely decoratedsuites among four diligently restored heritage buildings, Fairholm ensures a relaxing and unforgettable experience.
Fairholm was built in 1838 by Thomas H. Haviland, a politician and Father of Confederation. The Haviland family sold the property in 1855 and the estate changed hands several times until it was purchased by Benjamin Rogers. The Rogers family owned the property for almost 120 years until in 1999 whenwe purchased the private home and converted it into a seven room Inn.
The property was steeped in history and required a year of meticulous restoration to bring the building back to its original character. In 2013, we builtthe Carriage House which offers six modern style apartment suites giving our guests more options for their stay.
The two neighboring properties operated as independent inns until 2015 when we saw the opportunity for expansion and purchased both adjacent buildings with a new vision in mind. The successful renovation of Hillhurst Inn (built in 1897) allowed for a new lobby and check-in area. Our dining area was increased by the addition of an outdoor covered deck patio which led to a PEI Heritage Award. The renovation of Cranford House gave the property larger gardens and green space. Eventually, we purchased three more surrounding buildings and made a downtown Charlottetown city block into one impressive boutique hotel property.
While working as a full-time pharmacist, Gina’s keen interest and ability in interior design modernized these historic properties and established Fairholm as one of Charlottetown's most prominent boutique hotel properties. We are constantly growing here at Fairholm Boutique Inns and now have over 20 fulltime employees in the summer including our four children Ben, Sam, Tess and Jake. All four play a unique and integral part to help making Fairholm Boutique Inns what it is today.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoy the full PEI experience!
Brooke & Gina MacMillan
Owner Gina MacMillan with special guest Sir Paul McCartney during his stay at Fairholm.
RICH WITH HISTORY
When Fairholm was built, the times allowed for prominent families to live in a style we can only imagine. A home the size of Fairholm had staff to care for the house, the gardens, tend to the wishes of family and the many guests. It was a rarefied lifestyle.
Fairholm was built in 1838 as a private family home for Mr. Thomas Heath Haviland. Mr. Haviland was born in England and emigrated to Prince Edward Island in 1816. He soon gained the position of Provost Marshall and other positions of importance and influence followed: in 1823 he was named to the Executive Council, in 1824 he became assistant judge of the Supreme Court, the Colonial Secretary, the Registrar, and the Clerk of the Executive and Legislative Councils. Haviland also secured his personal fortune acting as land agent for Prince Edward Island’s absentee landlords and his own properties. Haviland was elected and reelected Mayor of Charlottetown starting in 1857. The house was ready for occupancy at just about the time that Haviland’s wife, Jane Rebecca Brecken, died. Mr. Haviland and his family of 8 lived at Fairholm for many years.
Haviland sold the house in 1855 to the Honourable Charles Young, LL.D., Q.C. Born in 1812 in Glasgow, he came to Nova Scotia as a child with his family. In 1838, Charles Young was called to the bar, and in the same year he left for the Island to seek his fortune. Just two years later, Young represented Queen’s County in the provincial legislature, a seat that he held until 1863. Young was an advocate of political and social reform, and he energetically defended the move toward responsible government. He also supported the establishment of free schools. Once responsible government was granted in 1851, Young became the Attorney General, a position that he held for many years. In 1852 Young became a judge. Young and his wife Lucetia lived in the house until Young’s death in 1892.
Mr. Thomas Heath Haviland
Mr. Charles Young
Mother at the Door
Mrs. Rogers 1895
Fairholm stood uninhabited for two years until acquired by Benjamin Rogers, a local hardware merchant. The Rogers family owned the house until 1999, and one of the last of the Rogers to live in it was the much respected and admired Irene Rogers. Mrs. Rogers was very active in the preservation movement in Prince Edward Island, and wrote and spoke extensively on the subject. She was also, until the time of her death, a member of The Prince Edward Island Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.
It is quite an accomplishment that Fairholm was maintained as a private home until very recently. All the care given Fairholm over those 160 years secured its place in Charlottetown’s history. In 1999, after 100 years as the Rogers family residence, the Rogers descendants decided to sell the property to Gordon MacPherson, Brooke and Gina MacMillan.